What is Eventing?

Buck1Eventing is a combination of athletic challenges that puts the all-around ability of both horse and rider to test. The competitions are called Horse Trials, Three Day Events, or Events. Today's eventing has evolved from a series of difficult tests military units used to pick the best mounts. There are three phases; dressage, cross country, and stadium jumping - the penalty scores are combined for the final result with the lowest score winning.

Dressage

Dressage demonstrates the relaxation, suppleness and obedience of the horse, using a series of pre-determined movements. Individual movements of the test and the overall performance are evaluated.

alex_bank

Cross Country

The cross country course uses banks, ditches, water jumps as well as more straightforward solid fences in natural terrain to test the jumping ability and courage of the horse and rider. Refusals, run outs and falls (of horse and/or rider) count as jumping faults. Faults are also given for for exceeding the optimum time allowed.

Leslie Law

Stadium Jumping

The stadium jumping phase is meant to show that a fit and bold horse has the obedience necessary to negotiate a course of show jumps. Performance is evaluated on jumping faults as well as time taken as in cross country.

Calendar

Wednesday July 24: The RBC Wealth Managment Twilight Eventing Series + Fix A Test
Saturday August 3: USDF Loch Moy Dressage Festival III
Sunday August 4: USDF Loch Moy Dressage Festival IV
Wednesday August 14: The RBC Wealth Managment Twilight Eventing Series + Fix A Test
Sunday August 18: Max Corcoran Clinic
Wednesday August 28: The RBC Wealth Managment Twilight Eventing Series + Fix A Test
Saturday September 14: FEH/YEH/NEH Qualifier
Saturday September 14: Starter Horse Trial #4
Sunday September 15: Starter Horse Trial #4
Saturday September 21: PYT Dressage Show/Jackpot Jumpers
Saturday September 21: Max Corcoran Clinic
Friday September 27: FEH Qualifier/Jump Chute Clinic
Saturday September 28: FEH East Coast Championship
Saturday September 28: FEH East Coast Championship
Friday October 11: MDHT #3 +BN3DE
Friday October 11: MDHT #3 +BN3DE
Friday October 11: MDHT #3 +BN3DE
Monday October 14: Week with the Pros
Monday October 14: Week with the Pros
Monday October 14: Week with the Pros
Monday October 14: Week with the Pros
Monday October 14: Week with the Pros
Saturday October 19: Starter Horse Trial #5
Sunday October 20: Starter Horse Trial #5
Monday October 21: Open Schooling on Competition Course
Monday October 21: Open Schooling on Competition Course
Monday October 21: Open Schooling on Competition Course
Monday October 21: Open Schooling on Competition Course
Monday October 21: Open Schooling on Competition Course
Monday October 21: Open Schooling on Competition Course
Monday October 21: Open Schooling on Competition Course
Saturday November 2: Starter Horse Trial #6 & Championship
Sunday November 3: Starter Horse Trial #6 & Championship
Saturday November 30: Donation Derby
Saturday November 30: Donation Derby

Our Sponsors